What is Herbalism?

What is Herbalism all about? Wikipedia defines it as “the use of plants for medicinal purposes, and the study of botany for such use”. To me that is a very limited definition. Herbalism to me is as much a way of life as it is a state of mind. It is a conscious decision to take your health into your own hands. I love the idea that what you put into body determines what you get out of it. I have several chronic health problems which means, as much as I hate the idea, I’m saddled with several prescription drugs that I have no choice but to take. Herbalism gives me back a little control over my life and peace of mind. I use it to calm my nerves during homework time with my daughter or to soothe my aches and pains after a long day gardening. Not to mention it has been practiced far longer than modern medicine and with satisfactory results. I find it very interesting and I can’t wait to share my studies with you.

Leave a Reply

